Skip to content

No Buy Month

February 2, 2009

I’m fresh off of reading Frugalista’s post [via Afrobella] about February being a no buy month.  I figured I’d jump on the bandwagon seeing as how I am…extremely…impulsive when it comes to throwing down my cash.  This month, it’s gas, groceries, and nothing else (save a pre-scheduled dinner with the besties on the 12th).

I’m sure I can conquer anything if I just have the will…I just don’t know how willing I am.  LOL.  It’s more than possible that I can get by with what’s in my closet and in my refrigerator for the next 25 days, so we’ll see how it goes.  Chauss says that the best shopping is done in your own closet, anyway.

—-

SIDE NOTE: I got an email from Melissa of Penny Rae Vintage a couple of days ago; she’s in a competition called Project Design, y’all.  Apparently, the top 6 designers in this competition get to show their lines during St. Louis Fashion Week(!).  Since she’s the only designer there using vintage clothing (her main gig is reconstructing pieces), I thought I’d give her a shout out on the ol’ blog here.  Here’s a link to the page where you can vote for her.

Good luck, girlie!!

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 12:01 am

    I wish I had the will power! New position is great but am still working out my notice on the day job, so doing like 3 jobs at the moment. But all is good.

  2. February 3, 2009 5:33 am

    Good luck on the no spending for a spell and good luck to your peoples too :)

  3. February 3, 2009 9:49 am

    I am going to jump on this bandwagon, too. I definitely don’t need ANYTHING more in my closet. Thank you for the inspiration. :]

  4. February 3, 2009 11:51 am

    Goodluck!

    – I like the new layout but wheres your banner? It gave your page so much character

  5. adrienneslist permalink
    February 3, 2009 5:33 pm

    I’ll probably be on this bandwagon by default, just due to being broke. Plus I’m saving for a new couch and a puppy!

  6. February 3, 2009 8:49 pm

    I really like the new and modern layout. Very minimalistic. Not a word? Now it is. Good luck on the penny saving. I’m right there with you.

  7. April 28, 2009 11:28 am

    Thanks for your support, instant vintage, and all of the readers. Just an update…………I did get 14,000 votes, but didn’t make it to Fashion Week. I’m going to keep plugging along and designing, though!

    Thanks so much for your votes. I love reading this blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

