Skip to content

Celebrity Inspiration: Janelle Monae

August 18, 2008

Happy Monday!  Ok, I told you early on that this was supposed to be a fashion blog with things peppered in here and there.  Consider this one of those pepperings.

If you haven’t already, meet Janelle Monae.  She’s a Kansas City native, has a new album that was just released, and I have dubbed her the feminine counterpart to Andre 3000 of Outkast.  If you pull up any pictures of her, chances are you’ll find her in a heavily tailored tuxedo and saddle shoes, or something I could only define as cyber-afro-punk.  Her music isn’t much different.  It’s a good thing.  A very good thing.

I love people who are comfortable enough with themselves to bump the trend in favor of their own thing.  It’s watching confidence personified.  Janelle is definitely one of those people, and I got to see her perform (read: open for Raphael Saadiq) at the Roxy last night (YAY ME!!!).  I’ve been checking for her since 2006 and always wondered what she was like on stage.  Once I saw that she was going to be in L.A., I got tickets immejiately.

First off, I’ve never seen someone with so much energy on a stage.  Seriously.  Secondly, she can sing pretty damn well.  The clip below doesn’t really do her voice justice, but you’ll get a feel of what her show is like:

Good times – and for $26, I’d call it well worth the money.  I got her CD while I was there, too.

The look I donned last night was very concert casual.  I don’t do heels at standing-room only venues (although I could have because my feet were KILLING me by the end of the night!), and I really wanted to wear my new American Apparel Slim Slacks.  I love these jeans.  Yes, the size lies, but the fit is fantastic.

Sweater: H&M + Top: Guess + Jeans: American Apparel + Shoes: Bakers + Bag: XOXO

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

