Skip to content

Tales in Boozeland

September 1, 2008

As you may (or may not) know, I live in a place that is equipped with a full bar and a dude that fancies himself to be a mixologist.  Translation: I like a good drink.  Rarely to never do I go out on a bender with the mission of getting drunk.  Rather, I like to enjoy my drinks – how each ingreedient plays off and balances out the others and then combine for a harmoniously intoxicating experience.  Dudeguy has taught me well.

Although there are a bevy of hard beverages at my disposal, I do like to go certain places where I know there is a lot of effort and attention paid to how and what drinks are made.  My favorite (at least so far), is Seven Grand.  Let me tell you, this place is a drink conniseur’s little slice of heaven.

Tucked away in Downtown L.A. near the corner of 7th and Grand (creative name, right?), it has a distinct old-timey boy’s club feel: tartan and leather, whiskey everywhere (delicious), and deer heads and antlers on the walls.  Word on the street is that it’s a converted taxidermist’s shop.  Walking in and looking around, that is very easy to believe.

I absolutely love this place from a drink and design standpoint (they have some of the best Tiffany windows I’ve seen).  Through high quality drink service and the look and feel of the bar, they’ve managed to transport people to a different world.  It’s basically what you would imagine a late 1800’s bar to be like right in the middle of Downtown.  Freakin’ sweet.

Although Friday nights can be a little strange because this high-caliber bar is pouring Patron and vodka shots for the college crowd (grrrrr), the service is still beyond excellent with knowledgeable bartenders who take their time to make each and every drink perfectly, down to slicing fresh garniture from oranges, lemons, ginger root, and more.  All the juices used in the drinks are freshly pressed every day and you’re bound to see drinks that you have never heard of but are probably older than your grandmother.  Once you’ve had a drink here, it’s hard to go back to that b.s. they pour in the clubs.  Seriously.

But enough gushing from me.  Here’s what I wore on that Friday night out:

Dress: H&M + Belt: Jet Rag + Shoes: For Love 21 + Nerd Glasses: Aldo

The hot chick with me is Alex.  She’s lived a very, VERY full life and is full of all kinds of crazy stories because of it.  I *heart* her.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2008 7:26 pm

    Really like your simple gray dress, perfect for fall.

  2. September 1, 2008 7:46 pm

    Thanks! I feel like I could pair it with tights or something. Not too well versed in that department, though.

  3. ceecee permalink
    September 2, 2008 11:12 am

    you’ve got great legs, don’t hide them in tights. And those shoes!

  4. September 2, 2008 6:13 pm

    Thanks ceecee. =)

    And those shoes I bought on a whim – funny story actually. It was my coworker’s bday and we were going to happy hour after work. I looked a hot mess that day and was depressed because Eva Diva herself was there and saw me. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t too slummy at the festivities, so I ran to the mall and got those shoes. The last pair they had in the store and they were like $17.

    I know that was a lot, but that day was crucial. LOL.

Leave a Reply

