Skip to content

FlyJane-gate 2008

September 18, 2008

UPDATE: This issue was resolved, very pleasantly, and you should consider this the ravings of a very upset woman who was lacking information and hepped up on adrenaline.  FlyJane is cool with me.

WARNING: Rant about to commence

Ok, so a while back I bought a couple of pairs of shoes from flyjane.net that didn’t work out too well – one pair was not what I ordered and the other pair was way too small.  On August 22, I returned both pairs to flyjane and bought a pair that I knew I would love from a brick and mortar store.  The keyword here is RETURNED.

A few weeks later, circa September 5, I see a credit for $39 had been posted to my account.  There were two things wrong with this.  1 – neither pair of shoes cost less than $45; 2 – I paid nearly $98.  I read the return slip (which I kept a copy of thankyouverymuch) and it said that at most, a restocking fee of $5.95 is charged in case of damage.  I knew neither pair was damaged, so I called.  And I called again.  Got bumped to voicemail for customer service both times.  I sent an email – no one responds.

I’m at level yellow irritation.

I call again on September 12, and miraculously someone answers the phone.  I tell her that the credit I received for the returned shoes was a little short.  She tells me that one pair was EXCHANGED and that the package was sent out September 6.  I tell her I wanted them both returned, but I’ll look out for the package.

September 16 comes and I stll don’t see a package.  Feeling that this was a bit odd, I called flyjane again only to be sent to voicemail.  Again.  I left a very detailed message about how I initially returned both pairs of shoes and somehow one got exchanged and was sent out on the 6th.  I told them that I intended to return the pair that was sent to me as soon as I receive it and asked that someone call me back so I know the message was received.

I didn’t get a call back.

I did, however, come home to an email yesterday from flyjane.net informing me that my package had been sent out on September 17 and that I could track it via fedex.

Please let all of that swirl around in your head for a minute and tell me if I was wrong.

I lost it.  I mean, completely lost it.  I responded to this email with a very long and tense letter.  Basically, I told them that it’s an unnaceptable business practice to a) exchange something that was clearly maked as an item to be returned, b) lie and tell me a package was shipped, and c) respond to my message stating that I intended to return the shoes by shipping the damn shoes.  I want all of my money back – for the shoes, and for shipping the first and now second time I’ve had to ship these shoes to flyjane.

I’m so pissed.  The only thing keeping me on an even keel is knowing that I keep copies of damn near everything and can build a pretty strong case if they try to contest anything.  I might just start some mess for the hell of it and call over there to see if anyone got my email…

In short, FLYJANE.NET’s customer service and practices SUCK…MAJORLY.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ceecee permalink
    September 18, 2008 5:14 pm

    awww that sucks cos flyjane is run by a sister. I know it’s not much of an excuse but between a 9-5 (if she has one)and a thriving side business things can get pretty hectic.

  2. September 18, 2008 6:28 pm

    I believe it, but some of this is ridiculous. The not responding to emails and sending something after I said I didn’t want it is really grinding my gears.

  3. September 18, 2008 7:02 pm

    Sorry for all the aggravation you went through 😦

    Thanks for posting this though, because I was this close to ordering a pair of shoes from there. But I guess I’ll just stick to endless.com

  4. September 18, 2008 7:26 pm

    It may work for you and they’re way cheaper than endless, so don’t rule it out entirely. My issue (hopefully) won’t be everyone else’s.

  5. September 19, 2008 2:11 am

    doggone. i was just about to check out their shoes too. booo hisss booo.

    sad that it’s run by a black woman too.

    get it together flyjane!

    and have the nerve to have fly in the name! lolol.

    those shoes better be worth it.

  6. September 19, 2008 6:16 pm

    @ muze – some of them may be, but I have enough shoes as it is. I don’t need these, I need my money back.

  7. September 22, 2008 9:09 pm

    dont give up. you should call your cc and dispute the initial charges. they can temporarily credit your accountwhile they investigate.
    law school may be in your future…

  8. September 22, 2008 9:21 pm

    Really? Good to know…

    Thanks, chauss! And I had law school dreams, but they fizzled. Damn this indecision of mine.

Leave a Reply

