Skip to content

Love is a 4-Letter Word

September 29, 2008

Nothing prompting that title, really; I’m just excited for the new Metallica album.

I was watching Project Runway reruns with dudeguy last night (I make him watch it with me) and the “design for the designers” episode was on.  For those of you who don’t watch (shame!), one of the designers was given the task of creating a look for another one of the designers inspired by the punk musical genre.  Because dudeguy is a former punk rocker (because they never really get out of it), I knew he would find this episode ripe and ready for critique.  I was right.

“Babe, is this punk rock?”

He was offended.  Mostly because this look was very cliche and really had nothing to do with punk rock or what punk rockers did.  I asked him what he would have done differently.

“Shit, I don’t know.  Probably glued pigeon feathers in his hair.  This isn’t punk.  Punk is when you just do shit.  Not because it’s cool or you think it looks good.  Like growing a mustache on the side of your face…or…or…”

He was overwhelmed with upset.  My eyes started to glaze lightly.  I’ve heard this tirade before and, while it is entertaining, I know where it’s usually going to end up.

I may not know much about they actual style that o.g. punk rockers would approve of, but I did get something right.

“Now THOSE are punk rock.”

Score one for me.  Not that I was looking for points, but positive reinforcement is always nice.

Henley: American Eagle

Jeans: Forever 21

Very punk rock shoes: Doc Martens

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2008 7:10 pm

    hi ya, i hope you find a simialr dress to one in your post below. it would like rad with those boots. 🙂 have a fun filled week!

  2. September 29, 2008 7:56 pm

    Thanks, chauss. You too!

  3. September 29, 2008 9:44 pm

    Haha,
    im digging your very punk shoes.
    🙂

  4. September 30, 2008 7:46 am

    I have those jeans in black lol, i was tempted to get the grey ones too but changed my mind lol

  5. September 30, 2008 8:14 am

    I love those boots on you. And yeah, totally agreed about PR.

  6. Kiana permalink
    September 30, 2008 11:13 am

    a little off subject, but I love how you call dudeguy, “dudeguy.”

  7. Vanz permalink
    September 30, 2008 11:17 am

    Pigeon feathers? Is he sure… sounds more like a Solange outfit to me.

  8. September 30, 2008 6:24 pm

    Thanks y’all!

    And LOL @ Vanz. We’ll have to watch and wait for that one, because you know she’ll rock it on someone’s red carpet.

  9. October 8, 2008 3:38 pm

    Very impressive. My next book, well, scratch that, the novel I write which I think will hit the hardest – I have to have that look on the cover.

    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

