Skip to content

Tone-Def

October 2, 2008

I’ve been wanting to do a tonal outfit for a while now and since I have these cute lil’ oxfords, I decided to do it in my favorite color: grey.  Ideally, it would have been three shades/tints of the color, but I didn’t realize how close the shirt and jeans were until it was time to leave.   Oh well.  LOL.

Today, I had lunch at The Bus Stop – a little cafe in the old coatroom (snopes check please!) of the El Rey Theatre.  This place was formerly called Doughboys, but thanks to some money mismanagement and employees not being paid, Doughboys closed.  I, along with several other people in the department I work in, went through a brief fit of depression when we heard this news.  Thankfully, the El Rey bought out the space, kept all the people that worked there and made me very happy in the process.  The food here is REALLY good, and it would have been a shame to lose all of that.

Sorry for the stock photo – I didn’t take any while I was there, so I lifted this from someone’s flickr.  I’m terrible, I know.

The Bus Stop Cafe

5515 Wilshire Blvd

Los Angeles, CA 90036

It wasn’t as hot today, so I was definitely thankful for that.  After I got home from work, I went by my mom/grandma’s house to check up on things since they’re both out of town.  My sister was there looking very sickly, so I played loving and responsible big sis and cleaned up the yard.  In this.  And that included picking up after the two dogs.  Fun.  Great fun.  Afterward, I managed to jerryrig my camera to take this picture which is now one of my personal favorites:

Shirt: got it on Melrose

Jeans: American Apparel

Shoes: Forever 21

Necklace: my freakin’ sweet grandma

Dogs: 2 Bichon Frises

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 9:41 pm

    i luv how you wear these jeans. did you just roll them up? it looks so good!! lol i tried to achieve this effect but maybe the cut of my jeans just wasn’t right. are these straight leg? or bootcut jeans?

  2. October 2, 2008 9:53 pm

    Thanks! They’re just rolled up because they’re a bit too long for me. The jeans are the Slim Slacks and they have a straight leg – I really don’t like bootcut because they don’t cuff well at all.

  3. October 2, 2008 11:24 pm

    Haha
    I love the last pose.

    Pure Genius.
    ;-p

  4. October 3, 2008 12:15 am

    aaw greatness.. i want to visit LA one day

  5. October 3, 2008 6:20 am

    awww. very cute outfit!

    and LOVE the puppies.

  6. ceecee permalink
    October 3, 2008 7:48 am

    cute pups!!!
    you pulled off the tonal outfit well (tonal means all matchy color-wise right?)

  7. Vanz permalink
    October 3, 2008 8:42 am

    Why do I love the cut and fit of that shirt?

  8. October 3, 2008 3:20 pm

    Those shoes are incredible and I’m shocked you got them at F21

  9. October 3, 2008 7:00 pm

    Thanks y’all!

    @anna – I thought there was a spider on my foot.

    @Tamika – you should. Only when the weather is nice, though.

    @muze – thanks, girl! And those puppies are spoiled and ridiculous, but I can’t help it. They’re too cute.

    @ceecee- basically. Tonal is using lighter and darker variations on one color.

    @Vanz – there’s a keyhole in the back, too. =)

    @Jills – I still am, too. Srsly.

  10. October 5, 2008 11:01 am

    Love your shoes!

  11. October 5, 2008 5:52 pm

    Thanks, Wendy!

Leave a Reply

