Skip to content

DIY: Round One

October 6, 2008

I finally decided to go ahead and make my own version of the AA Melange Jersey skirt.  They ran out of the color I wanted, and they didn’t have it in the color I bought to make it with.  I also thought it would have been way too short on me, so this worked out well.  I think it came out pretty nicely, no?

It took a little while, but I think it was worth it.  $30 is a lot for a skirt this basic (this gripe is what keeps me buying stuff at American Apparel anway), and I need to get as good as my mom was on this sewing machine.

Cardigan: Target

Shirt: I don’t remember

Skirt: DIY

Shoes: Emporio Armani

I know I’m usually kind of bleh on the politics front, but I saw this poster today while coming back from lunch, and I just had to get a picture of it.

I hope you all are registered to vote out there.  If not, hurry up because the deadlines are coming up.  If you already are, don’t forget to vote.  If you don’t manage to make it to the polls, you have no grounds to complain about anything that happenes in that country.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 9:55 pm

    Nice job with the skirt. I just started sewing clothes for my kids, I can’t imagine doing it for myself but I hope to try when I get better on the machine.

    Just out of curiosity, what type of machine do you use?

    Love your blog, by the way. A fellow Angeleno is always cool in my book.

  2. October 6, 2008 9:57 pm

    Thanks a bunch! I have a Kenmore machine straight out of Sears and I’m hoping that little by little, I’ll be able to make more complicated things. =)

  3. October 7, 2008 7:37 am

    You did a GREAT job with that skirt! Wish I was craftier with a sewing machine instead of just with my money 🙂

  4. ceecee permalink
    October 7, 2008 12:50 pm

    That’s why I stopped sewing. Good fabric is hard to come by and so darn expensive.

  5. October 7, 2008 5:03 pm

    Thats exactly why I don’t go to AA, they’re stuff are so expensive for basics.

  6. Vanz permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:05 pm

    Skirt: fab!
    Obama poster: fabber!

    Cant go wrong!

  7. October 7, 2008 8:23 pm

    skirt looks great. feel better soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. October 7, 2008 9:44 pm

    @ S – thank you! My wallet demanded it. LOL

    @ ceecee – you are so right. I got lucky this time around.

    @ Wendy – I know! It’s insane. It’s cute stuff, but I feel like I can make most of it myself.

    @ Vanz – you know I had to do it.

    @ chauss – thanks a bunch. Feeling a little better now. =)

  9. October 8, 2008 4:50 pm

    you look fantastic!
    i love the colour of the skirt. and the shoes are really cute as well.

  10. October 9, 2008 3:02 pm

    this is such a cute outfit, i love teh skirt

  11. October 9, 2008 7:07 pm

    Thanks jenny and nenuca!

  12. Angela permalink
    October 10, 2008 8:24 am

    Your skirts looks better than the AA one! There’s looked a bit slore-ish, at least to someone as long-legged as myself. LOL

  13. October 10, 2008 8:19 pm

    Gurl…you did a fabulous job on the skirt!

Leave a Reply

