Skip to content

Purple Stuff…

October 20, 2008

Sorry for the barrage of posts on a Monday…I was sick this weekend, so I’m making up for it all.  LOL.

Today, my DIY purple skirt over that grey F21 dress I said I wanted.  I could have worn it solo, but I had a meeting today (that was cancelled) and I didn’t want to send any strange messages.

I’m thinking this skirt has a lil’ too much volume for me.  Either that, or I’m hankering for a pencil skirt.  We’ll see how I feel after I fire up my sewing machine and work some magic crank out something wearable.

Jacket, dress, shoes – F21

Skirt – Handmade

Tights – Target

Thank you guys again for all of your feedback re: the red shoes.  That whole episode really taught me a lot about myself and my shopaholism.  It wasn’t always like this.  I used to be extremely frugal/tightwadded/spendthrifty.  But then my life turned upside-down for a slew of reasons and I medicated with clothes.  I read on MSN that antidepressants are supposed to help compulsive shoppers.

Anyone have any Prozac?  Zoloft? Umm…what else is out there?

I’m really not a fan of meds, so I’m hoping this shopping freeze* works out.

*Note: The freeze does not include the $1 sale.  That would be unfair.

UPDATE: Following the video-with-the-post theme, I had to retroactively post this.  Man…this takes me back.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Reilly permalink
    October 20, 2008 9:20 pm

    Wow, that skirt really changes color in different lighting. I love when clothes do that (well, not always) – it make’s it feel like you’re wearing a whole new outfit every time you go from place to place.

  2. October 20, 2008 10:23 pm

    I’m feeling the look of the skirt in the second pic most. Somehow with your arms exposed they balance the poofiness of the skirt.

  3. October 20, 2008 10:38 pm

    You’re a seamstress right? Try to wean yourself off buying from others and TREAT yourself with gorgeous fabrics and make something awesome for yourself every once in a while!` ??

  4. October 20, 2008 11:04 pm

    @ Laura – thanks! That shade of purple loves to fool people at different times of day

    @ GT – me too! I felt a little…voluminous in the first picture

    @ Hue – I’m still beginning, but that’s a great idea.

  5. October 21, 2008 4:36 am

    Nice colors (grunt)! 😉
    Nicely put-together as usual, easy and mod. I’m digging the gray shoes and black tights combo with gray top-purple skirt ensemble. Very cool.

  6. October 21, 2008 6:32 am

    love the outfits!

  7. October 21, 2008 6:50 am

    love it love it love it. oh and those red shoes in the post below…love it!

  8. October 21, 2008 8:30 am

    Wow I adore your skirt SO much you did a fantastic job 🙂

  9. October 21, 2008 8:34 am

    P.S. –> Seriously, too, I’ve had lots to deal with on relationships with my daemons but it all works out in the end. We all go thru phases. Nothing is permanent. The shopping impulses? That, too, shall pass. 🙂

  10. October 21, 2008 4:18 pm

    I love this look so much
    and antidepressants for shopaholics?! UH OH

  11. October 21, 2008 5:44 pm

    @ Monochromator – Thx. I’m happy you can comiserate. LOL

    @ realtalk – thanks!

    @ S – I’m thinking about doing more. I need fabric!

    @ Dana – I know! Isn’t that nuts?

Leave a Reply

