Skip to content

Goodwill (and Ozzie Dots) Halloween!

October 26, 2008

Am I the only one out there that loves this commercial?  I’ve been singing it all weekend much to the chagrin of dudeguy.  He’ll get over it and will probably start singing it himself.  Comedy.

This is actually the first Halloween that I’ve gone to Goodwill to find things.  Shocking?  I know.  If you’re still  looking for costumes or costume supplements, find your nearest location and GO!  Anyone hurting from the recession or who doesn’t want to wear a stock sexed-up cartoon character/sports figure/public servant, should at least browse one for 20 minutes.  You will find something you can work with.

In my favorite GW on Hollywood Blvd and without much effort, I managed to find the ever elusive hot pink blazer.  Sure it’s not an exact replica, but it’ll do:

For the balance of my costume, I walked down the street to Ozzie Dots.  If you’re in L.A. and have never been here, you REALLY need to go.  The prices are extremely competitive and they have tons of costumes organized by genre and decade.  I came away with a blue wig and some striped tights.

Ozzie Dots

4637 Hollywood Blvd

(right next to my favorite bookstore/gallery/novelty shop – La Luz de Jesus)

All in all, I spent about $25 for my entire costume.  This pales in comparison to the Vanity fiasco of 2007 where I spent about $140, everyone thought I was Tina Turner instead of an obscure 80’s pop singer turned evangelist, and I wasn’t able to wear anything again.

Halloween 2007 - slutty, slutty!

Something tells me that blazer is going to be seen well past Halloween night.  Maybe even before.  Shoulder pads and all.

We’ve got about a week left and I can’t wait to see/hear about everyone’s costumes!  Party plans anyone?

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2008 2:57 pm

    i think that blazer would look great with skinnies! can’t wait to see you in your costume. i bought a vintage hot dress today with an low mesh back… not gw prices, but it looks great…………..

  2. October 26, 2008 3:04 pm

    @ chauss – I know whatever you picked, it was well worth the money and it looks awesome. I can’t wait to see it!

  3. Duckey aka C permalink
    October 26, 2008 3:24 pm

    Hey… isn’t that copyright infringement heffa… using my picture on your website. You know I love it, let me stop acting like I don’t. 🙂

  4. October 26, 2008 3:47 pm

    your blog sucks really bad.

    why dont you be more like mine

    http://bloggingourway2bombay.com

    actually you are kinda hot nevermind i love your blog

  5. October 26, 2008 4:02 pm

    @ Duckey – you know I know you like it. That’s why I do what I do.

    @ Vincent – Best.complidiss.ever. =D

  6. October 26, 2008 6:24 pm

    You must post pictures of you in your costume. That jacket is very vintage Chanel. Great finds.

  7. October 26, 2008 7:39 pm

    Yes, the first thing I thought of when I saw the blazer was Chanel. And you were almost unrecognizable in your pic = )

  8. October 26, 2008 7:59 pm

    yay!

    im stoked to see it all together.

    are you gonna draw the token fafi hearts on your cheeks too?

    i should hope so.

    you’re gonna look sick.

  9. October 26, 2008 9:35 pm

    @ Lenya – I def got CoCo vibes when I saw it. Super lucky! And yes, I will be posting costume pictures. =)

    @ SGHI – I barely recognized me with straight hair. It looks weird. LOL.

    @ molly – Definitely! It wouldn’t be complete without the hearts. =)

  10. October 27, 2008 6:15 am

    I can’t wait to see what the costume turns out like on! I’m sure it’s going to be fab by looking at the pieces you got. Loves. it.

  11. October 27, 2008 6:17 am

    LOL! You’re so funny, thank you 😉

    But really, Tina Turner or no Tina Turner, you’re still so cool.

    XOXO

  12. October 27, 2008 12:51 pm

    i can’t wait to see your version of those items put together!

  13. October 27, 2008 4:23 pm

    @Duckey and @instant vintage

    Didn’t I take that picture…so technically, don’t I own it LMAO…Duck, check out those regulations for me.

    Yes, I was one of the ones who thought you were rollin’ down the river…my bad. However, I am intrigued to see this years costume.

  14. October 27, 2008 6:20 pm

    @ S – I’m so excited!

    @ Monochromator – thanks, love! You know I feel the.same.way. about you!

    @ realtalk – Several pictures will be taken. I can’t wait!

    @ Jaz – LOL. Everyone did. I should have had “Nasty Girl” playing on my ipod or something.

Leave a Reply

