Skip to content

Halloween 2008 Redux

November 2, 2008

So, this year’s Halloween was one of the most tedious, exciting, exhausting, aggravating, and enraging days of my life.  I mentioned before that people at work go nuckin’ futs at Halloween and all that was expected came to frution: stress level at orange, peope running around like mad everywhere, and my department ultimately winning for set design.  So bitersweet.

I’ll level with you now – an insane amount of pictures are in this post ( I tried my best to edit – really).  No, I did not get permission to use any of them.

Me in costume

Part of my department

It's a bazaar!

Duckey and "Abu"

Duckey and "Abu"

Ok, so that was the crux of my department – Arabian Nights type theme, awesome decor, people dressed accordingly.  Fun stuff.  There was also a costume fashion show and several other departments to walk through.  It was exhausting.  More exhausting than doing actual work.

Me on the runway

Me on the runway

The 'genies'

The "genies"

There was quite a bit to see in the other departments:

A KISS concert

A KISS concert

Playboy bunnies

Tons of zombies

Tons of zombies doing "Thriller"

There was also a haunted maze with evil oracles and doctors hacking people to bits inside of it and a recreation of a past London complete with a murderous barber’s shop.  The day nearly culminated with 1984 Prom – Pretty in Pink was on screen, Billy Idol was there (ok, not really), and we took prom pictures and danced to “Like a Virgin” and “She Blinded Me with Science.”

PROM!!!

PROM!!!

Good times...

Good times...

Billy Idol...

Billy Idol...

I still can’t believe we did all of this at work.  I rue the day I have to help clean up all of this mess.  It was fun, though.  I can’t tell you how tired I was at the end of it all.  Almost too tired to go out later that night, BUT I was too geeked about my costume and had to dress up.

Wig & Thigh Highs: Ozzie Dots

Blazer: Goodwill

Button Down: American Eagle

Dress: American Apparel

Shoes: Promiscuous

That makeup took forever since I didn’t have face paint…really should have planned that a little better.  How did I do?  If you think I pulled it off, can you please vote for me on the AA site?  No obligation.  =D

Ok, so I was all ready to go out, called some friends and was set to meet them out on Hollywood Blvd.

WORST.IDEA.EVER.

Not only was traffic horrendous (I was in my car for TWO HOURS when the normal drive is about 15 minutes),but by the time I finally got there, paid to park, and walked three blocks, I was met by a barrage of police officers clearing the entire boulevard.

“Hollywood is closed.  Go home.”

“How the fuck do you close a whole city down?” (I was indignant…can you tell?)

“Too many people; they’re getting too rowdy and it’s causing problems, so we’re clearing it out.”

I nearly cried.  Seriously.  My friends were already at the club and I was stuck outside, alone, and in a minidress with my most hooker of heels on.  I should have stayed home.  Really.  I guarantee I will NOT be headed in that direction come next year.  I should have just hung out in Boystown like I’d originally planned.  All that damn dressing up and driving for nothing.  AARGH!!!

I hope you guys had a better night than I did – Lawd knows I was ready to hit someone. LOL.

So…tell me stories!  What of your holiday weekend?

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. elanarobinson permalink
    November 2, 2008 6:10 am

    great costumes! -eBay fashion addict

  2. November 2, 2008 9:46 am

    Cool

  3. Duckey aka C permalink
    November 2, 2008 1:45 pm

    We did good and I took a wonderful picture of you. Your makeup was wonderful my dear!

  4. November 2, 2008 11:24 pm

    I am jealous of your job!

  5. November 2, 2008 11:59 pm

    oh man. i can only hope i’ll be able to work at a place so cool! dude you guys look like you had the most amazing halloween party ever.e ver. ever. ahh. i just want to jump in your pictures hahaha. the genies were fabulous. i absolutely love your costume — you look amazing! in both of them!

  6. November 3, 2008 1:25 am

    oh no, disaster! Hooker heels aren’t so bad on halloween, or at night. I tend to not bring a change of heels when I go out and the next morning I feel like such a slut going out to breakfast. 5 inch platforms at the vegan restaurant…that’s me.

  7. November 3, 2008 10:34 am

    Starters- your skins looks great.
    Wow, I’d say that’s how you throw a job functions. looks like a load of fun. I love the morocco set-up.
    I was in that same traffic halloween night as well and had gone without sleep the night before. We took the streets to avoid the jam on the 101 only to be hit by traffic in the residential. What nornally is a 25min drive took 2hrs to get to Universal Studios. I’m sorry all that work was in vain. You looked great. But-at least your job rocked it out.

    Be Blessed

  8. November 3, 2008 11:11 am

    I can’t believe they didn’t let you in looking as absolutely gorgeous as that! Seriously, this is one of the best Hallowe’en costumes I’ve ever seen, you look beyond gorgeous.
    The work thing looked fun 🙂

  9. November 3, 2008 1:41 pm

    love the costume and these, love the lamps too!!!!

  10. November 3, 2008 1:49 pm

    hahah. amazing that you did that at work! where do you work?

    you look adorable! ughhh i had the same issue with traffic. as you say it was nuckin futs!

  11. November 4, 2008 6:59 am

    Gurl.

    You look awesome! And looks like you had a great Halloween!

  12. November 4, 2008 11:45 am

    i love your costume!!

  13. November 11, 2008 8:47 am

    Omg crazy girl I love your blog! I wondered where the hell you been. I’m sooo coming back!

Leave a Reply

