Skip to content

808s and Elbow Patches

November 12, 2008

The gods must have smiled on me when I went to Jet Rag a couple of weekends ago.  Yes, I know this stuff has been popping up here and there and that I keep rubbing it in talking about it, but this truly was the coup de gras: a vintage tweed blazer…with elbow patches.

I don’t know what it is about the addition of elbow patches to tweed that makes me feel like I’m a professsor’s aide on a collegiate campus where the buildings are built with bricks and covered in ivy.  Whatever it may be, it’s definitely in this blazer.

Damn I got lucky.


Vintage Blazer: Jet Rag

Shirt: FOTL

Scarf: F21

Jeans: Citizens

Boots: Nine West

And to answer the questions posed in last post’s comments, my main photog is dudeguy in the morning.  Occasionally, one of my friends will step in or I will jerryrig the camera and set the timer.  LOL.  It’s quite a sight to see.

And Vincent, I don’t know Vanessa, but y’all should definitely swing through Los Angeles on your way to Bombay.

Random Photo Time:

Alright!  Is anyone checking for 808s and Heartbreak?  I know I am.  Heard it was pushed back to the 24th.  To whomever decided that was a good idea, thatshitistotallywhack,son.  Word.

And finally, I’m putting some more stuff in the store – mostly shoes – so check it out.  =)

Have a great rest of the week!

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 7:38 pm

    If you tell me that the blazer was a $1 I will scream. LOL
    The whole outfit totally suits you. I’m soo going to do a shopping trip with you on my next trip to Cali.

  2. November 12, 2008 7:48 pm

    This is by far my favorite outfit.

  3. November 12, 2008 7:55 pm

    Start screaming, Lenya. LOL. And please do! I need more people who understand my “illness” to accompany me.

    And thanks, Jazz! =)

  4. November 12, 2008 9:21 pm

    I am SO checking for that 808s album! Kanye’s music is so soothing to my ear 🙂

  5. November 12, 2008 9:22 pm

    ^^^soothing to my ears—I do have more than one…lol.

  6. November 12, 2008 9:34 pm

    Tweed blazers are amazing, well since Alexander Wang for me.

  7. November 12, 2008 9:52 pm

    loving the creams and tans.

    and those buckled boots.

    fab.

  8. November 12, 2008 9:58 pm

    @ Danielle – I can’t wait!!! I love that he diversified. So many are afraid to do that.

    @ Wendy – They totally do it for me.

    @ molly – thanks, love!

  9. November 13, 2008 4:10 am

    I L-O-V-E that blazer with patches!!!! it is amazing x

  10. Phillyjawn permalink
    November 13, 2008 8:11 am

    as an avid of blazers and boots, I salute you. I love your style..I swear we’re long lost shopping buddies lol…oh in case you’re wondering, I found your blog via Tre @ clutch magazine

  11. Phillyjawn permalink
    November 13, 2008 8:16 am

    *fan

  12. Vanz permalink
    November 13, 2008 9:47 am

    Just FYI… that jacket is the BUSINESS! Very Sherlock Holmesie

  13. November 13, 2008 9:49 am

    I’ve been looking for a blazer that cool for ages and you found one! Ahhhh ADORE the tweed with the elbow patches, you look SO pretty and collegiate!
    xo
    S

  14. November 13, 2008 10:21 am

    That jacket is just to perfect for Fall!

  15. November 13, 2008 10:41 am

    very ivy league of you Alicia

  16. November 13, 2008 10:47 am

    Gurl…I love when style can’t be replicated.

  17. November 13, 2008 10:48 am

    hey how is ecrater – is it shady or for have you gotten your money from them okay?

  18. November 13, 2008 11:19 am

    the jet rag patch adams coat is amazing! we need to do jet rag together. maybe next sunday?

  19. November 13, 2008 1:25 pm

    okay, I love the tweed coat and for a dollar?…damn…a straight comeup! I heart kanye too, my fellow 1978 baby! about the release pushback; it’s called marketing anticipation!!! oh and dudeguy is a real sweetie for taking time to take those flicks every AM!
    I shall tune in tomorrow!

  20. November 13, 2008 2:36 pm

    Thanks everyone!

    Geri – let’s go!

  21. November 13, 2008 3:06 pm

    I’m seriously jealous over that blazer! Equipped with tweed and elbow-patch… it’s far, far from professor’s aide!!!

    And um… those shoes, wow, I love all of it!!

  22. November 13, 2008 5:47 pm

    WHY do you have me over here wanting to cop a tweed blazer as well? Jesus, you make it look like the next best thing in the fashion world. Definitely digable. And, I know all about the snacks and etc at one’s job… I actually adore that fact about mine, though. Great flicks.

  23. November 13, 2008 6:35 pm

    I love the tweed! It’s always reminded me of my grandpa..

  24. November 14, 2008 7:38 am

    i am soooo feelin this outfit!!

  25. November 14, 2008 4:01 pm

    great blazer! love it with those boots too

Leave a Reply

