Skip to content

The Renaissance…

November 20, 2008

Buy this album.  Now.  It’s amazing.

That is all.

Thank you.

But seriously, I got to hear snippets of this today and Q-Tip is NOT PLAYING.  At all.  It’s an amazing record – every single of the 12 tracks are good and that’s extremely rare in the music being offered today.  I won’t use this as an in to go on my tirade about how most music sucks today (lookin’ at you hip-hop).  I will say that I am glad that two individuals have decided to go against the grain and made good music – stuff they wanted to do that steps beyond the trends that hip-hop can’t seem to break from, and sadly, is known for.  Thank God.

After hearing Kanye’s interview on KROQ yesterday (further confirmation of my love for that man) and listening to this album today, I’ve decided that The Renaissance and 808’s and Heartbreak are the only two CDs/mp3 albums I need to buy this year.  Really.

And to all of those people giving Kanye major flack for this album, I will remind you that an artist’s job is not to make hits for you, it’s to make art for him.  If you buy it or benefit from it, all the better for him, but you are not the focus.  How selfish of you.

Time to Get Up…

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 1:46 am

    Add 88keys The Death of Adam to your list. Kanye is the executive producer (and he’s 88s best friend) and I like it just as much as The Renaissance. It’s really all about Adam’s pursuit of the vajayjay and his subsequent death because of it. Kanye plus a whole bunch of other dope ass people are featured on it.

  2. November 21, 2008 6:42 pm

    Copped the Tip album last weekend, definitely a great music investment. I’m not hyped or excited bout Ye’s new joint, but I’ll end up copping it anyway.

  3. November 21, 2008 11:48 pm

    I have been listening to this album on repeated for a couple of weeks now. I’m in love with hip-hop again.

  4. November 23, 2008 3:23 am

    see, that’s why you are the homie.

    good musical taste is imperative.

    kanye is a genius. nuff said.

    and i am loving the song ‘getting up’ by q-tip.

    then again, he’s always been the dopeness.

  5. November 24, 2008 8:30 am

    Yeah, music has been sucking the big one for quite some time. Glad to hear there’s actual music worth buying an iPod for. FINALLY. I don’t even own an mp3 player anymore and I used to be a serious audiophile, but now that I have Pandora, my musical tastes are expanding and I no longer have to rely on the radio/word of mouth to provide me with mediocre musical genres and choices. It’s like there ain’t shit to listen to anymore. Haven’t heard the new album by Tip yet, but I bet it’s the shiznit. Yup, I said it. Lol.

  6. November 24, 2008 8:32 pm

    Bought Gettin Up off I Tunes….I always loved the Q. Something about his voice is addictive.

  7. November 29, 2008 10:38 pm

    Q Tip makes my heart go pitter patter.

Trackbacks

  1. » Blog Archive » …and now A word from my Friends…

Leave a Reply

