Skip to content

cafe mak

November 21, 2008

Remember the Korean coffee shop I told you I was going to last night?  Well, I DID go (YAY) and had a pretty good time sitting, talking and shoving hot beverages and sweets into my mouth.  It’s  really cool place and I’ll be glad to recap.

Before I start, I’ll introduce my friend Joei:

Love this girl.  She’s hilarious and managed to find me a pair of teddy bear earrings.  Yes, they are as cute as they sound and I’m sorry for the sucky picture quality.

1120earring

Since we were clearly in K-town, I had to ask her, “Joei, am I going to be the only black person here?”

She says, “it doesn’t matter.  I’m the only Chinese girl here.”

I respond, “Well, I’m part Chinese, so will that help?”

*laughter ensues*

These are the conversations I have with my friends.  LOL. None of it mattered anyway.

We sat outside on a nice brick patio with iron chairs.  It’s a pretty nice place and HUGE on the inside.  You’d never be able to tell from the street.  I hear the post-club crowd comes here so that explains the size and the fact that it closes at 2am during the week and around 4am on weekends.  Nice.

I can’t tell you how the coffee is there because we completely skipped over that and ordered a pot of Earl Grey and a couple of cakes.  Oh, the cakes.  THE CAKES!  They’re an adventure in subtle sweetness and texture and they come out in perfect little domes.  Very cute and tasty.

1120_tiramisu

The tea wasn’t half bad, either.  Any urbane coffee shop that uses whole leaf is good with me.  We asked for around three refills of water.

Overall, I liked the place and plan to go back in the future.  If anyone ever makes it down there, please try the green tea tiramisu.  It’s ex-quur-zhit.  I know, my Ms. Jay impersonation over the computer needs work.  Lots of work.

Cafe Mak

612 Shatto Place (near Vermont & 6th)

Los Angeles, CA 90005

213-252-9898

Happy Friday, guys.  Go out and do something fun so you can tell me about it later.  =)

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 11:46 pm

    How did the sweet potato cake stand up to the likes of say…a sweet potato pie?

  2. November 22, 2008 10:52 am

    Green tea tiramisu? I can’t really imagine how that would taste…

  3. trEmaine permalink
    November 22, 2008 2:50 pm

    I love outings with good friends and great food…

  4. November 22, 2008 3:18 pm

    @ Jaz – totally different. They use a white sweet potato and they don’t really add any extra sugar so the sweet is very subtle. Good though.

    @ Magnus – i didn’t think I’d like it, but it was hella good.

    @ tre – it’s the best. Really.

  5. November 22, 2008 4:28 pm

    mmmmm… yes those dishes do look delicious! I also love anything with black sesame in it!

  6. November 23, 2008 3:19 am

    lol. sounds fun. i love her name.

    and green tea cakes sound awesomeness. me loves anything with green tea, really. lol.

  7. November 24, 2008 12:11 pm

    The green tea thing looks amazing!
    New post on my blog, check it out.

    -A.

  8. November 26, 2008 1:24 pm

    Teddy bear earrings? I want them too! Amazingly cute!

Leave a Reply

