Skip to content

The Selecter

November 24, 2008

I found a hat in dudeguy’s closet.  After I took out all the…extra…riff raff out of my hair, I decided that I would wear this hat and pull out a tuft of hair to act as a bang a la my hair muse Janelle Monae.  Gah, the things she does with that hair.  Amazing.

So here’s my outfit today: token menswear shirt over a dress topped off with this hat.  I got quite a few “you know who you look just like…” remarks today as a result.  The best, IMO, was Pauline Black from the ska band The Selecter.  I thought it was dead on…at least from the neck up.  LOL.

1124

Thrifted Shirt//F21 Dress & Shoes//Dudeguy’s Hat

You can’t really tell where the hat ends and my “bangs” begins for lack of great contrast between black and brown and the fact that the last time my hair was straight was around two years ago.  Here’s a better shot:

Since I’m betting that close to none of you know who Pauline Black is, here is a video from The Selecter for their song “On My Radio.”  Gotta love UK ska music.

Smile!  We have a short week this week.  Any plans? Are you cooking?  Will you be saving me a plate? I need answers!

Side note: Geri and Kara, you guys are great/hella cool/Jet Rag champs with fantastic eyes for cool stuff.  It was so good meeting you both and rummaging through the many stacks of the dollar sale.  Next time?

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2008 8:33 pm

    Channeling our inner Tina Turner legs are we? LOL….

  2. November 24, 2008 9:14 pm

    I love her hair, shes so gorgeous!
    I like the outfit, the colour of the dress is great

  3. November 24, 2008 9:56 pm

    You look so cute, very 80’s like Cyndi Lauper.

  4. November 24, 2008 10:50 pm

    yes yes yes
    since i have no chance at straight chopped bangs either, this is my constant inspiration:
    http://allthingsordinary.net/article/destination
    kills me every time

    and the pleasure was all mine! lets do something soon!

  5. November 24, 2008 11:11 pm

    I need to find a jet rag, and u look great

  6. November 25, 2008 1:27 am

    Love your shoes!

  7. November 25, 2008 6:55 am

    Hey Lady!
    Cool look. I do like J. Monae’s look also! My holiday plans are to gather w/my fam. over at my Aunt’s house. Basically, the usual Thanksgiving.
    Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    Peace….

  8. November 25, 2008 12:40 pm

    wow. not many can pull off hats. and hats off to you for being among the minority who can!!

  9. November 25, 2008 1:06 pm

    The color is gorgeous on you… and wow, look at those stems!

  10. November 25, 2008 6:54 pm

    You know I’m cooking! And, I cannot wait for tomorrow to end, lol… I also love the hat and the outfit you matched along w/ it…

  11. November 25, 2008 7:43 pm

    @GT – yes ma’am. I blame the footwear. LOL.
    @nenuca – thanks, love!
    @Lenya – thanks! I got a lot of 80’s references that day. Awesome.
    @kara – totally digging the inspiration photo. and yay! we need to. next time you have a show, let me know!
    @Tamika – yes you do, or a good thrift store will do the trick. thanks!
    @urbanita – thanks, love
    @chocolateorchid – sounds fun! i wish my fam was into it this year. oh well.
    @eleh – thank you! i know you definitely could, too. =D
    @ bella – thanks, my dear.
    @ tre – does that mean you’re fedexing me a plate? because you should. LOL

  12. November 29, 2008 10:35 am

    janelle monae is that deal. you looked adorable.

  13. December 23, 2008 1:14 pm

    Niiiiice one!

    I try to tell folks how important the shoes are!

    Rude girls don’t try
    they just do…

    http://ska4u.com

Leave a Reply

