Skip to content

time well spent

November 25, 2008

I didn’t make it to work today, so I’ve taken the opportunity to spend the day in my ‘SC sweats (read: no outfit post).  I’m doing the best I can to keep warm since the temperature finally decided to drop and bring the rain along with it.  I hate rain.  Always have.  I can’t operate normally and forget about trying to drive in it (there’s a story and it involves the near totaling of the ’91 convertible Mustang I used to own…so sad).

Today, I made it my mission to look for all of those items that I’ve seen by the by in hopes that I will be able to acquire them for myself.  At the top of the list is that Elizabeth and James knuckle ring that Rumi has been wearing.  It’s been haunting me for what feels like eons and I just couldn’t find it.  Anywhere.  Only one site carries it (supposedly) and I only see it in gold – not really my thing as I have worn silver for nearly all of my life with the exception of my mother’s wedding band that she gave me after daddy died.

After much mainstream web searching and a disheartening attempt on ebay in nearly every country, I decided to check Etsy, my ace in the hole in situations like this.

Score.

Not only did I find what I was looking for, I got more than I expected.  It is the style I have been coveting for over a month and, to my merryment, it’s a vintage piece with some of the best little details (and you all know how much of a sucker I am for details).  The inset rhinestones and pearls made this a no-brainer for me.  Dudeguy caught a glimpse of it over my shoulder and, without prompting, said, “that’s reallyfuckincool.”

I bought it.

I’m usually not one for much jewelry, but I couldn’t pass this one up.  No way, no how.  Don’t be surprised if I add it to the “never take off” collection of things I currently wear.

I managed to take a break from my shopping travails to make my rounds in the blogosphere and came across this video at ProperTalks.  I CANNOT WAIT for this movie to come out just for the ridiculousness of it all.  NSFW, so please keep that in mind.

Hope you all are having a fantastic day.  =)

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 5:43 pm

    love that ring.
    it’s gorgeous.

    likin’ your blog.

    kisses

  2. joi permalink
    November 25, 2008 6:02 pm

    love you! mean it!
    xoxo

  3. November 25, 2008 6:51 pm

    ahh, playing hooky from work, eh? Digging the jewelry selection too.

  4. November 25, 2008 7:39 pm

    Thanks, y’all! Can’t wait for that to get here.

    And loves you back joi-joi!!!

  5. November 25, 2008 8:19 pm

    yeah!!! Random plugs of the blog are the biz, lol. The ring looks like it will make your knuckle clammy….that is a slight concern for me. But it is tres cute!

  6. November 25, 2008 8:43 pm

    Oh lord, that ring is delicious!

  7. November 25, 2008 10:23 pm

    AAAAH that ring is sick

  8. November 26, 2008 2:19 am

    fabulousss buy! Sure to get complimentsss!!

  9. November 26, 2008 8:53 am

    Oh my god that ring is FAAAABULOUS, I cannot wait to see how well you rock it!

  10. November 26, 2008 11:27 am

    That’s amazing 😀 I actually like it better than the E&J one.

  11. November 26, 2008 9:27 pm

    That is one sweet ring!

  12. November 28, 2008 5:56 pm

    that ring is amazing, i need to be better at checking etsy for hard-to-find things

  13. November 29, 2008 10:38 am

    yeah that ring is dopeness.

    you have me hooked on rumi’s site btw. thanks for costing me more money.

    lmao.

  14. November 29, 2008 1:49 pm

    Seriously loving the ring!!!!!

  15. November 29, 2008 10:36 pm

    Not safe for work indeed! Good thing I don’t work a lot!

  16. November 30, 2008 10:39 pm

    whoaaa

    im way jeal-ly beans over that ring

    so. damn. awesome.

    get me one? thanks. haha

  17. December 1, 2008 11:49 am

    I love big rings & this is definitely a style I’m always on the hunt for.

  18. December 1, 2008 2:48 pm

    hey i really love your blog !! love the way your write and the photos 🙂 i really enjoy ill come to visit it often 🙂
    a très bientot !!
    bouchra//boubouteatime

  19. December 1, 2008 5:31 pm

    hotness

  20. December 1, 2008 11:52 pm

    that ring is AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

