Skip to content

Reinvented

December 3, 2008

As I was walking through Goodwill last weekend, I came across this garish floral printed black shirt.  I instantly fell in love with how it looked, but balked when I saw that it was a size 22W.  I was a bit confused when I saw 22W, but I didn’t ask anyone any questions.  Honestly, I felt like Peter when he was trying to figure out what a pallet of chocolate covered pretzels was.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I picked it up and held on to it remembering how Wendy managed to finagle a button down shirt into a skirt.  She has come up with some billiant DIYs without the privilege of formal training (and without years of experience as she’s still in high school – shocking, I know), so if you haven’t, you should check out her blog.

Where was I?

Oh yeah.  I remembered that she was able to turn a button down into a skirt.  I ended up buying it, but when I got home, I had no idea of what I was going to do to make this transformation happen.  After very little deliberation, my lazy-creative mind kicked in and I realized that I could just tie the damn thing around my waist.

Random top from a shop on Melrose//Thrifted shirt/skirt//Steve Madden boots//Cardigan from my mum

You can’t really tell in the photos (that print is ridiculous), but the hanging arms gave my…masterpiece?…some much needed dimension.  Inadvertently, the seams also did a really cool thing and curved in from the sides.  I was a very happy camper.

I can’t believe my lil sister’s 20th birthday is tomorrow.  I feel so old. Somehow, I still she should be 14.  Is that wrong?

Maybe it is, but I think it’s even more wrong that she’s making me accompany her and her flock of friends to The Saddle Ranch this Friday.  Jeebus help me.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 7:33 pm

    Wow! I mean like Wow! You look great!

  2. December 3, 2008 8:13 pm

    Don’t buy them no liquor!! LOL….and I lub the colors in the skirt

  3. December 3, 2008 8:43 pm

    You did that! That looks great!

  4. December 3, 2008 8:47 pm

    Love those boots. Hotness!!!

  5. December 3, 2008 9:37 pm

    I really love those boots! And that outfit is wow!

  6. December 4, 2008 5:34 am

    Stop it! You’ll have fun w/ your little sis and her friends. And, the shirt\skirt looks heavenly on you 🙂

  7. December 4, 2008 2:01 pm

    Let me just say, wow.

    I’m reading through thinking of all the ways you might have reivented this and then I get to the line… “After very little deliberation, my lazy-creative mind kicked in and I realized that I could just tie the damn thing around my waist.”

    I almost fell out of the chair.
    Brillaint.

  8. December 4, 2008 2:03 pm

    oh dammit, forgive my misspelling. lol

  9. December 4, 2008 2:19 pm

    You’re one of the most creative people out there, and you pull it off effortlessly! Looking great 🙂

  10. La Couturier permalink
    December 4, 2008 3:03 pm

    you look effortlessly chic & sophisticated!!

    xoxo,
    La C.

  11. ceecee permalink
    December 4, 2008 4:00 pm

    you go ma! that is NICE.
    So the hanging arms turned into a belt? I almost thought it would’ve made for deep pockets lol

  12. December 4, 2008 5:36 pm

    I love the skirt. You pulled it off well.

    Hey Instant Vintage,

    Would you like link exchange?

    Cas

  13. December 4, 2008 10:40 pm

    …look at you bein all creative n shit

    haha jk i really like your make-shift skirt, alicia.

    way cute.

  14. December 5, 2008 2:37 pm

    Girlie, that outfit is too cute! I LOVE the shirt/skirt! The color palate of everything is nice too.

  15. December 5, 2008 2:51 pm

    I LOVE that outfit! The skirt is gorgeous!!

    Nice blog! x

  16. December 6, 2008 7:29 pm

    I love this look without the cardigan. And those boots are hott you can ship them to me whenever lol jk

  17. December 9, 2008 8:16 am

    Love. Love. Love that outfit.

Trackbacks

  1. Reinvented | Attract Shoppers
  2. Angst « Instant/Vintage

Leave a Reply

