Skip to content

I didn’t get the flu shot

December 8, 2008

I’ve never gotten the flu shot.  I’ve never gotten the flu.  Alas, this shit has finally caught up with me and is making me pay for all of those times I danced up and down the hallways affirming how “I never get sick” to all of my ill friends/coworkers/random people.

This sucks.

cardigan casual look fruit of the loom guess platforms

Actually, no.  What sucks is how I still trudged on in to work half congested and made it all the way to 5-o-clock with not so much as a Cold & Flu remedy to cure what ailed me.

I’ve never had so much white tea to drink in my life.

cardigan casual lookTarget Cardy//FOTL Tee//Refuge Jeans//Guess Shoes

When dudeguy came to pick me up, I was in worse shape than in the morning.  I was (and still am) achy, I had (and still have) a headache, and my throat is making me feel like I’ve been gargling with barbed wire.  I managed to muster enough strength to ask him if I got any mail.  I did.

For you new folks, getting things in the mail is kind of a big deal to me.  I mean, it’s like Christmas.  Seriously.

Anyway, when I got home, this was waiting for me:

package lucky pack

Le paquet de chance d’Arabelle

I literally squealed with delight knowing there would be some reallycoolshit inside.  I was not disappointed:

vintage clothing silver gloves arabelle lucky pack

Before I go ANY further, I promised dudeguy that I would transcribe what I said at the moment I saw the bottom right hand corner of this box.

“Are those shiny silver gloves?!?  I DIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIE!!!!”

Damn you Rachel Zoe.  I think I made the cats scatter.  Anyway, here is a better picture of the contents:

vintage clothing arabelle lucky packRed Blazer//Silver Gloves//Pink Lace Scarf//Insanely Cute Puppy on a Postcard//

Kickass Photo of Patti Smith//Black Floral Dress//Hat Pin

Would you judge me harshly if I wore all of this at once?  Because I really want to.  LOL.   If any of you are interested in getting a lucky pack of your very own, there are a couple on ebay (here and here).

I wanted to keep this short because I should really be sleeping, but I seriously couldn’t contain myself and have failed miserably in my initial endeavor.  I think I’ll be curling up with the wassail that dudeguy whipped up (because beer punch cures all) and watching the Simpsons.

wassail beer punch

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2008 8:45 pm

    What a score! Enjoy your purchases and feel better. Lots of fluids and rest.

  2. December 8, 2008 9:38 pm

    love this look xx

  3. December 8, 2008 10:36 pm

    aw hope you feel better soon, I think I’m coming down with something…but I always get sick. and I can’t wait to see you wearing your new stuff!

  4. December 8, 2008 11:23 pm

    Lucky pack, indeed. And That blazer? I die. Seriously.

  5. December 9, 2008 7:39 am

    I feel the same way about getting packages in the mail.
    I do hope that you feel better soon!

  6. December 9, 2008 8:18 am

    What is that in the cup? LOL..

    Feel Better Alicia. The Flu is another way of mother nature telling us to slow our asses down. For the most part I don’t get sick either; but when I do its usually because I’m doing too friggin much and not being present…

    Sorry…got lost in the moment…

  7. December 9, 2008 10:03 am

    That drink doesnt look very appealing. Hope it does its thing. The red Kasper Jacket is similiar to the one I have. Orignally a suit with a killer skirt in a waffle weave material. I bet if you rocked them all at once, you’d look great. You should amuse us with a dress up even if you dont dare leave the house.

  8. December 9, 2008 11:54 am

    Hello girl !
    i have ever seen your blog but never visited it ; thats why now i visit it 😉 ( sorry for my english :$) i really like your style 😉
    ill be back for sure!
    Bonne soirée!
    Bouchra
    boubouteatime

  9. December 9, 2008 3:07 pm

    Feel better Alicia! At least you got some goodies to lift up your spirits!

  10. December 9, 2008 8:13 pm

    Since I’m still in town for a few hours… wanted to pop over and see what you were up to, and dammit… you’re sick.

    Feel better Alicia.

    And holy ****, the Lucky pack is fabulous (enter shiny silver gloves)!!!!

    xx

  11. December 10, 2008 7:37 am

    i love how you blog even though you’re sick. we love you and you know it
    🙂

  12. December 10, 2008 10:31 am

    That red blazer is amazing! and you look great on these photos 🙂
    new post on my blog, check it out!

    -A.

  13. December 10, 2008 4:01 pm

    Oooh, I wondered who bought them! Glad I stumbled on your blog. 🙂 Your stuff looks awesome – I especially love the dress.

  14. December 10, 2008 6:58 pm

    I never get the flu shot. I actually had to get it one year while I was working in a private practice and I ended up getting the flu that year (I still say it was the shot that caused it). Since then, I’ve not gotten the shot ever again. As for receiving items|gifts|letters in the mail, we must be kindred spirits b/c this is BIG for me too! LOL. I jump up and down when I receive a response to a letter I’ve written (*showcases her dorkiness*)… KUDOS to you for receiving some very lovely gifts. Feel better soon.

Trackbacks

  1. I didn’t get the flu shot « Instant/Vintage | availabl.com

Leave a Reply

