Skip to content

Perspective//What I’ve Learned in the Past 24 Hours

January 5, 2009
  • Life isn’t short – living is what you will do for the longest amount of time// It is, however, very precious and easily taken for granted; especially the lives of others.
  • Hug/call/see/laugh with/learn from your loved ones// Those times matter more than anything and they will keep you from going crazy when bad things happen.
  • Regrets suck//Try living without them; usually all it takes is a change in your attitude toward the circumstances at hand.
  • Following rules & orders  is overrated//2 defiant best friends “assembled like Voltron” and saved my sanity when they showed up after I told them not to. 
  • Frugality isn’t always the best route to take//Make sure the car you drive is a reliable one so you won’t stress out over not being able to see your grandma while she’s in the ICU.
  • Believe in the noxious power of secondhand smoke//That shit KILLS people.

Thank goodness she’s doing better now.  Last night was EXTREMELY frightening for my mother and I.  She still isn’t out of the weeds, but she has a knack for cheating death.  That lady is a ninja/trooper.  Seriously.

Given all the goings-on of the day, I decided to wear Chucks.  I needed stability.   I still need confirmation that my freakin’ sweet grandma is going to be able to go home.  Immediately.  If not, sooner.

UO Jacket, Thrifted Shirt, Refuge Jeans, Chuck Taylors

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 8:18 pm

    My prayers are with you girl. Chin up.

  2. January 5, 2009 9:47 pm

    You’re in my prayers!

  3. January 5, 2009 10:03 pm

    Love the Chucks! And visiting Grandma is always important! I heart grandmas!

  4. January 5, 2009 10:39 pm

    Hoping for the best for you and your family.

  5. January 5, 2009 11:06 pm

    Goodness. Here’s to your grandmother’s homecoming this week. Cheers! You look fantastic for a nervous/grieving person.

  6. January 6, 2009 1:05 am

    Love the life isn’t short statement, it’s so true..

  7. January 6, 2009 2:11 am

    We are some defiant little women arent we?? Such a hateful statement never made me feel so warm inside :tear:

    Love you!

  8. January 6, 2009 6:43 am

    hope your grandma is doing better. the most importnat thing is the will to live, it goes a long way.
    i like the shoes remark. do you know grounding is very important ? schizophrenics like to go barefoot to feel in touch with the ground bc the rest of their world is so scattered and scary.
    when you see your grandma , surround the space aroung her with white light and concentrate on healing thoughts.
    xx chauss

  9. January 6, 2009 9:16 am

    your grandmother is gorgeous
    well wishes to her

    and love the learnings…… gotta keep all that in mind for 09

    *kisses*

  10. January 6, 2009 11:43 am

    So glad to hear she’s doing better.
    I see where you get your good looks from, you’re both stunning!!
    Hope the new year brings nothing but amazing things to you.
    xo
    S

  11. January 6, 2009 11:51 am

    Your grandmother is beautiful; I’m happy that she is alright & hope that she’ll be coming home soon. It’s so refreshing to see others with great relationships with their relatives. I am not so lucky.

    & by the way, you pull off Chucks so well! I have a pair of blue ones that I’ve had since 8th grade — I can still fit them! — but I can never seem to pull them off. Sigh.

  12. January 6, 2009 3:32 pm

    I am so glad to hear she is doing better; so true about secondhand smoke. She is lovely. LMAO @ “assembled like Voltron”…I adhere to the live-without-regret regime, it’s so cliche to some people that they don’t even take the time to think about it and try it.

  13. January 6, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hey Alicia.

    Happy New Year. *Oh Poo!* about your grandma. She’s a cute little bugger just like my own…

    I seriously have a crush on old people. They always have something valuable to offer…whether regrets or advice…

    Love the Chucks! I’ve tragically worn a hole in mine.

    GT

  14. January 7, 2009 9:34 am

    “Regrets suck//Try living without them; usually all it takes is a change in your attitude toward the circumstances at hand.” Great advice…

    As for your ensemble, rocking!

Leave a Reply

