Skip to content

Sentimental

January 6, 2009

**I don’t know what the deal is with my pictures, but if you click on one of them and come back, the rest should pop up.  Once I figure out the problem, it shouldn’t happen again**

Update: if you’re still having issues seeing pictures after 1pm PST on 1/7/09, please leave me a comment.  I think it’s fixed now.

Now I realize (more than ever, really) that my hands bear the history of my mother’s family.  My grandmother gave me all three of the bracelets that I never (with VERY little exception) take off.  To be honest, I feel a little high and mighty when I see bangles marketed under the guise of caribbean authenticity.  I KNOW I have the real thing.   =)

The one on the right is made of pure silver – yes it’s as heavy or even heavier than it looks.   Originally, my great-great grandmother had two made some time ago and gave them to my grandmother.  A cousin that I’ve yet to meet has the other one.  I don’t know if the pair will ever be reunited, but if they ever do, that day will be particularly significant.  I’m sentimental like that.

The two on the right are melted crowns (read: Brit/Jamaican currency).  Apparently, my great grandmother had them made by a smith friend (or lover – no one really knows).  Not too sure the bank was happy about it, but it’s always nice to keep your money where you can see it.  ‘Nama (as I call my freakin’ sweet grandma) always had these on up until the last time she was in the hospital.  She gave them to me a few months after getting back home.

As for the ring, it’s actually one of my mother’s wedding rings.  After daddy died, she gave my sister and I one each and made us promise to keep them with us always.  I plan to do just that no matter how much the gold seems to clash with everything else.

The outfit was nothing special, so I snapped a few random shots.  Just a cardy, beater, my zuni bear, jeans, and my wingtips.  I needed another “grounding” day.  Anyone who happens to follow me on twitter and was around at about 2:30 this afternoon knows why.  LOL.

BONUS!!!

Two residents of  the Cat Cave:

Katia “The Fat One”

Siam “The Dumb One”

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 10:57 pm

    Gold never clashes, silly! 🙂

  2. January 6, 2009 10:58 pm

    I was following you and I was feeling your pain.

  3. January 7, 2009 9:30 am

    😦 the visual side to this is still unavailable to me… But, if I imagined correctly, it was splendid, yes?

  4. January 7, 2009 9:38 am

    man…i can’t see nothin’.

  5. January 7, 2009 4:16 pm

    how is your grandma? has is your white light protection exercise going? practice makes perfect. 🙂

  6. January 7, 2009 4:18 pm

    now that is badass!

  7. January 7, 2009 7:25 pm

    Love the sentimental jewelry…that is very special. Also, gold doesn’t clash with anything it’s just a mindset kind of thing.

  8. January 8, 2009 2:27 pm

    Katia looks fat but Siam doesn’t look dumb at all 🙂

  9. January 9, 2009 8:01 pm

    I love it all

  10. January 19, 2009 12:41 pm

    I have two siamese kittens and the smallest one will look JUST like Siam when he gets bigger 🙂

Leave a Reply

