Skip to content

DIY Time

February 6, 2009

Maybe it was the massive pile of stuff on my future project list or the time spent on Queen Michelle’s posts on Kingdom of Style, but last night I was bit by the DIY bug.  I finally took the proverbial axe to my stack and managed to actually get a couple of projects finished.

First up was a quick hem of a floor length dress that I thrifted.  Something tells me that its initial purpose was to costume some woman reinacting life on the prarie because there is no tag and it looks homemade.  When I initially bought it, I fell in love with the ruffle detail at the neck and on the sleeves, but it was WAY too long.  After a quick marking and some swift scissor work, it became a cute minidress that is begging to be put over those latex leggings that I am determined to wear completely out.  I didn’t bother giving the dress a proper hem, but I think the fabric will hold just fine without one.  There isn’t a picture (yet), but I have enough material left over to make another mini dress or a couple of skirts.  Insane.

Next on the list was this scrapped detachable faux fur collar I’ve been holding on to for a few years.  This was originally part of a jacket I bought years ago (and no longer own), but I couldn’t bring myself to toss it.  I finally got annoyed with it taking up space in the scrap drawer and decided to turn it into a neck warmer.  I’m sure the recent rain pushed me in that direction, but nevertheless.  The process was simple enough, but I’m including a breif “how to” in case you have any spare fur scraps and buttons lying around.

Step 1: get your scrap and wrap it around your neck.  You want to do this to get an idea of where you want your closure to go.

Step 2: mark the place you want the button with a large safety pin.  Ideally you will insert the pin through the back of the fabric.

Step 3: drop a button onto the safety pin and sew it on to the scrap.  Make sure you have a larger button that isn’t flat.  If it is, it’s going to be hard to work with and may get lost in the fur.

Step 4: if there isn’t a preexisting loop like the one above, sew a small loop of elastic to your scrap on the upper corner opposite the side the button is on.  Don’t make this too large – you don’t want it to be visible – but make sure it can fit over the button without snapping.

Ta-DAA!

DONE!

Sure it looks like I’m getting choked out by a yeti, but I freaking love this thing.  I’m hoping the rain stays on into next week so I can freak out the people at work.  =D

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 7:36 am

    Fabulous! I love it!

  2. February 7, 2009 1:25 pm

    Very nice! love the glimmering button peeking out of the fur 🙂

  3. February 7, 2009 4:15 pm

    Ooh it looks cosy yet galmorous at the same time =]

  4. February 7, 2009 6:48 pm

    Very cool. I like the step by step how-to for the designing challenged (i.e: me!) I’d like to see a pic of the skirt you made – it sounds like fun!

    N-

  5. February 7, 2009 8:18 pm

    ooooo….i want one!!! you did a killer job!!
    <3.

  6. February 8, 2009 10:39 am

    Yay for DIYS!!! Good job.

    xxx,
    Tiffany

  7. February 8, 2009 1:28 pm

    It worked out wonderfully!

  8. February 9, 2009 2:37 am

    Love that faux fur collar – it’s amazing what any human can do once one has set their minds to it..

  9. February 9, 2009 9:17 pm

    well done darling! i just love it!!

  10. February 11, 2009 6:54 pm

    holy eff!

    this is killer. im officially jeally beans beyond belief. haha i am far too lazy to do that even if its easy..

    you are too fabulous. and im loving the new layout.

    and thank you for your always wonderful comments

    love ya, Molls

Leave a Reply

