Skip to content

I got Meme!!!

February 12, 2009

So my dear Gem over at The Bohemian Bookworm tagged me to do the following:

The game: open the nearest book to page 123 and reproduce the 6-8th sentence.

Well, the nearest book was blank on page 123 (that would happen), so I grabbed the next nearest one…in the other room.

“I was on the threshold of great things, he pleaded, in a voice of longing, with a wistfulness of tone that made my blood run cold.  “And now for this stupid scoundrel-” “Your success in Europe is assured in any case,” I affirmed, steadily.  I did not want to have the throttling of him, you understand – and indeed it would have been very little use for any practical purpose.

This excerpt is from my favorite book-turned-flim, Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad.  It amazes me how a 146 page book became the epic movie that is Apocalypse Now, but damn if Francis Ford Coppola didn’t do HIS THING with the material. I could go on forever about how this movie was one of the best explorations into the psyches of two seemingly opposite men, but that would probably bore the hell out of you.  I’d rather give you context for the passage above.  However, if you haven’t seen this movie, slap youself, rent it, and then come back and tell me a) how it changed your life, b) how you now can catch all the references in pop culture, or c) how freakin’ hot Harrison Ford and Martin Sheen are.  W00T!!!!

This comes from later on in the book when the storyteller’s friend Marlow finally comes within killing distance of Colonel Kurtz (easily the most diabolical and maniacal “villian” created…believe me, he was nuckin futs).  Despite being interrupted by one of the natives (they’re in the Congo…long story…), he manages to get caught up in Kurtz’s weighty aura which is a combination of intelligence and madness – very hard to not be in awe of.  Weird.  Instead of “throttling” him as originally threatened, he carries him back to the boat and attempts to take him back to Europe.

I know, it’s very unclear, but you kinda have to read the whole book after you see the movie to really get it.  Believe me, you want to see the movie first.  I learned later that English was the author’s second language (he was of Polish origin) and he writes in a very interesting sort of way.

Ok, I won’t tag specific people on this one, but anyone who wants to take a crack at it, let me know.

=)

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 2:18 pm

    “Well, the nearest book was blank on page 123 (that would happen), so I grabbed the next nearest one…in the other room.”
    LMAO!

    This was a good one! I just slapped myself because I have not seen the movie but my husband owns it (I think?). If not, we have Netflix.

  2. February 13, 2009 9:11 pm

    completely off-topic, but I just found out wat throttling was yesterday. Apparently thats wat ye olde po-po’s said CB did to my dearest Rihanna. :/

    Anywho…I’ve seen parts of Apocalypse Now but not the whole thing. I’ll have to put that on my to-do list…

  3. February 14, 2009 10:22 am

    happy v day 🙂

Leave a Reply

