Skip to content

T-Minus 10 days…

March 2, 2009

…until my trip to New York.

I was excited until I heard about the storm that has JFK cancelling flights.  Looks like I need to invest in some warmer clothing.

”][photo via Telegraph.co.uk]NY peeps, can you be so kind as to let me know what I need to prepare? Thermals? A Starter jacket? A layer of protective fat [via walruses and seals]?  I don’t do cold very well.

I thought NY in March was supposed to be milder than this.  Was I misinformed?  If I was, I need to slap the hell out of someone.

I think I might have to go on a DIY mission to make some layering pieces because I do not have high hopes for warmth in New York.  So far, the plan includes a wool vest-thing and a huge hood/scarf/cowl thing.  No, I don’t think it will be enough, but it’s all I got until I hear back from y’all.  LOL.

Happy Monday – try and keep warm east coasters!

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 12:29 pm

    Hopefully the weather will be much better by the time you get there. I hope that you have lots of fun!
    I have yet to go to New York but it’s definitely on my list!

  2. March 2, 2009 1:11 pm

    Alicia I was raised in New York and went to school upstate. Now thats cold. I would suggest a jacket with goose, duck or some kind of feather filler, also good at blocking the wind and keeping warmth.TURTLENECKS and Yes LONG JOHNS and SOCKs (I dont own one pair)

  3. amaka permalink
    March 2, 2009 1:37 pm

    8 inches of snow! im in nyc now and the kids got a snow day!
    i suggest scarves, hat, a coat with some kind of feather filler, shoes that can muck it through snow & ice–boots (and not necessarily heels–the black ice will get you and u dont wanna fall on the sidewalk)….im from cali, and i need a thick coat once it goes below 30…30 and above is pea coat weather in my eyes… the key is layering
    have fun!

  4. March 2, 2009 1:39 pm

    For starters, dont be mad at the person who gave you information because they’re right. The weather has been crazy all this winter, some days it’s 50 degrees, others it’s 20. I would suggest that you bring a warm weather coat so you can pair it up with a scarf. For apparel, jeans and leggings (leggings only if you could tolarate the cold), sweaters, thermals, and boots. Hopefully it doesn’t snow again so you can wear something other than boots…I don’t know I think that’s it.

  5. March 2, 2009 9:34 pm

    the weather is ALL over the PLACE this year. it was warm on friday and then snowed an insane amount today. it’s a total gamble!

  6. March 2, 2009 10:16 pm

    Say what?! You’re coming to NY?! We HAVE to hang out. Send me your dates (you have my mail) so we can plan.

    Also, I suggest you slap the weather. It’s so not supposed to be this cold right now… however, i think it’s only because of a storm and it should warm up soon. Still, bring tees, sweaters and a warm coat so that you can layer. And scarves and hats are key.

    Looking forward to it,
    – Pamela

Leave a Reply

