Skip to content

Practice

March 4, 2009

With (yet another) abrupt change in the weather pattern, I was forced into practicing how to properly layer clothes for cold weather.  Trust, I was not excited to see the downpour that the AM skies had to offer.  Really, I wasn’t.

top: Soia & Kyo trench, thrifted scarf, F21 cardigan and shirt
bottom: Refuge jeans, Docs

This has to be one of my favorite jackets even though I never really get to wear it.  Lime green lining.  What?!?!

Today wasn’t too eventful, but I did manage to finish the cowl scarf hood thing I’ve been talking about.  It damn well better be cold when I get to New York. BEHOLD:

crochet cowl scarf  hood

crochet cowl scarf hood

I’m still tinkering with the design and size, but I like this one.  A lot (what is it with me and big scarves???).  I’d like to thank the Knitters Studio for carrying the most wonderfully soft and supple collection of yarns on the planet.  I love doing business locally, so if you have a need for yarns and needles and thangs, please support them.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 11:17 pm

    I’ll try to save some cold weather for you. We have plenty!

  2. March 5, 2009 8:32 am

    wow loooooove that trench.
    hottt.

    *bisous*

  3. March 5, 2009 10:21 am

    Hey Ms. Ali, it’s been a minute since I’ve commented. (can’t surf much at work anymore) and school is back in. So, quickly I commend you for being strong in your Grammy’s last days. I lost my grandparents within months of eachother. They were “in LOVE”.
    I love the new hair cut. I’m a little hot under the collar that you let the natural go but you still have your swagg. It looks good. Frontin aside, I went back a couple of years ago and now my hair is to my shoulders again so I know the feeling.

    Love the jacket, sorry about the pumps, they were so so so so so Haut.

    Enjoy New York and whatever it has in store for you.

    As always, this is one of my favorite places to stop, even on my blackberry when I need some sort of urban, chic, eclect, soho, a-lit-tle ghetto fix.

    Love ya,

    AbysmalSweet

  4. March 5, 2009 12:47 pm

    i LOOOOVE the green lining. green rox. something about marvin the martian connotations and nickelodeon slime. weird, huh? what’s going down in nyc? you will need a LOT more than that trench to battle the frigidness when you get here. also loving the snood. i’m knitting a never-ending scarf myself. it’s entirely too long, but i figure, why stop? i’ve got so much more yarn… sweet ‘fit.

  5. March 5, 2009 6:25 pm

    lovely snood!!
    xx-LJ from SOS!

  6. March 7, 2009 10:37 pm

    I love the scarf slash cowl…when are you going to make me one??

  7. March 8, 2009 3:36 pm

    Like the cowl – very chic!

    N-

  8. trEmaine permalink
    March 8, 2009 5:58 pm

    You wouldn’t have wanted what we had early last week then… Layers were definitely needed and I assure you, that would not have been enough. I like the scarf|headwrap…

  9. March 9, 2009 9:52 am

    I like your trench and your boots (L) I think I have seen you on chictopia or maybe lookbook? I like your style a lot!

  10. March 11, 2009 8:31 am

    dude!!! you made that?! AMAZINGGGGGG

    it’s kinda cold here, dont worry. at least at night, you can totes but that thang out

  11. RaiulBaztepo permalink
    March 28, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

