Skip to content

Flowers? For Me?

March 5, 2009

I’ve been seeing florals in heavy rotation lately…runways, Topshop, and yadda (x3).  I almost got sucked in to getting a dress with huge print until I remembered this little ditty I picked up at Jet Rag.

That reminds me; guys, go shopping in your closets.  The recession commands it!

Sure it looked like a muu-muu when I first put it on.  A little hiking up, and it’s perfectly adorable.  No?

top: thrifted blazer and dress, F21 belt
bottom: random tights, Guess boots

Is there anything in your closet that you sort of hate?  Try altering it.  A little stitch here, adding a belt there, or a little dye all over can rekindle a dead flame.  Like those black jeans from a couple of days ago.  I hated them as flares, but as straight legs?  Trust, they’ll get way more mileage.

Now hit me with it: is there something that you can salvage with an alteration? No, really.  I want to know.  Whether or not I get bold enough to post tutorials (that you wouldn’t have to google or youtube* yourself…LOL) depends on it.  =D

*Don’t you love how these sites have “become” verbs?  I don’t know if they’ve officially made it into the lexicon, but I’m pretty sure they will if they haven’t already.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 10:39 pm

    this is great advice! i usually grab a pair of scissors and go to town….

  2. March 5, 2009 11:12 pm

    This color is PERFECT on you! I love the floral detail…

  3. ceecee permalink
    March 6, 2009 12:03 pm

    Hey Alicia! I know I haven’t been here in a minute, but girl my jaw dropped when I saw your hair!
    Lovely dress…lovely ‘do 🙂

  4. March 6, 2009 3:51 pm

    I’m a huge believer in alterations!

Leave a Reply

