Skip to content

Le Tresor dans l’Hotel

March 23, 2009

So yesterday…

After the mini brawl and museum, dudeguy and I headed to my favorite sub-city in LA to do some shopping.  I popped in to Amy Appy to pick up a couple of things that I’ve been craving (namely the  circle vest and mesh dress that I’m still working on making work appropriate).  Afterward, I went down to Goodwill and got a pair of shoes.  Bowling shoes.

bowling shoes

I don’t know how they ended up on sale, and I don’t really care.

Anyway, as we were walking out to the car, dudeguy says, “hey, did you see that vintage eyeglass shop over there?”

*PAUSE*

Vintage + Eyeglasses = Foam-mouthed Alicia

“NOOOOOOOOOOO!”

“It looks new.  Should we go?”

**already halfway across the street**

I didn’t get the name of the place until after I had tried on about ten pairs and squealed with delight at the shelves full of these frames, wondrous frames, of metal, plastic, and beyond.

It’s Hotel de Ville, but the way.

After all of the running, trying, squealing, and ogling in the adorably ornate mirrors hanging all over, the lovely Dana showed me a pair that made me fall silent.

1950’s deadstock (read: mint-plus condition) aluminum frames.  With the original felt bag.  I nearly shit a brick.

Please understand that very few things get me this excited: fun socks, insane shoes, Thin Mints, and glasses.  Ambrosia.

Sure, it may have been the post-purchase high I was already on, or maybe it was the knowledge that the previous two frames in this style were snatched up within hours of them being placed out on the shelves…or maybe it was when they said they could drop my perscription in for a very reasonable fee…or maybe it was because they didn’t cost nearly as much as I thought they would…or maybe even because the staff there were extremely knowledgeable AND opticians;  Whatever.  There was no way in hell that these weren’t going home with me.  And they did.

No regrets, whatsoever.

Hotel de Ville has two other locations: 7911 Rosewood Ave and 7422 Beverly Blvd.  Of course, none of this matters to me because the 4624 Hollywood Blvd store kicks ass.  They have a mini scotch lounge and cool couches.  Scotch not your thing?  Well, that sucks for you, but the glasses they have should be a huge enough draw.  With 85% vintage frames in stock, you’re bound to find something EXTRA special.

NOW GO!!!

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    March 23, 2009 7:36 pm

    Those glasses are hot!!!!

  2. Alex permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:00 pm

    They look amazing on you!

    (www.coopertee.blogspot.com)

  3. March 23, 2009 10:29 pm

    Niiiiice. I need to find a place that has vintage frames like that in the greater DC area….

  4. March 23, 2009 11:03 pm

    Only you can pull off bowling shoes and the glasses are amazing.

  5. March 24, 2009 10:35 am

    amaaazing picture 🙂
    oh my god, bowling shoes that’s..hard to pull off lol!
    it’s been such a long time, check out my new post!

    -A.

  6. March 24, 2009 12:23 pm

    amaaazing picture 🙂
    oh my god, bowling shoes that’s..hard to pull off lol!
    it’s been such a long time, check out my new post!

    -A.
    PS: Forgot to add great post!

  7. March 24, 2009 4:36 pm

    there are several awesome things about this post. first off, i’ve been saying that i was going to buy bowling shoes for years. they are just so comfy and look super cute with jeans. it’s honestly the only reason i bowl. secondly, those glasses are SO cute!! i don’t wear glasses but i will definitely be stopping into that store to check them out. love it. they look great on you by the way.

    n-

  8. March 25, 2009 5:21 pm

    those glasses are class!!
    xx-LJ from SOS!

  9. April 4, 2009 1:33 am

    extremely fabulous… those glasses are doing something special

Trackbacks

  1. Le Tresor dans l’Hotel « Instant Vintage

Leave a Reply

