Skip to content

Growing Up

March 26, 2009

I’ve officially changed my steez when it comes to clothes.

Tonight, I am taking inventory of (read: cleaning out) my closet.  Some will go into the store, some to people, some to Goodwill.  After picking and prodding through the first half, I’ve realized the lack of investment pieces behind those Ikea doors.  It’s shameful.  The clothing turnover rate in my closet is high.  Very high.  I need to change that ASAP.

Out of nowhere, the quality vs. quantity argument that I’ve heard time and time again about clothes finally made sense.  After this purge, I think I’m going to pare down the ‘need’ list and drop some serious cash on serious quality stuff.  Stuff that I’ll love forever and not just for half a year.  Stuff like this swacket from Harputs Own.

This thing is so versatile, it’s almost criminal.

Camille has one and I’m thoroughly green in the face.  It amazes me how that girl has found her clothing niche before becoming a legal adult.  Makes me feel dreadful, just DREADFUL!

I’m glad I’ve finally had an epiphany during closet cleaning this time around.  Any other time, I’d be ready to stuff it full of more things I’ve found on ebay/at Jet Rag/thrifting/online/randomly walking into stores.  Now, I feel thoughtful and purposeful.  w00t!

Of course, all of this will go to shit if I happen to come across $445 in the next day or so, but I’m just saying…

Oh, and this won’t apply to shoes.  Just thought I’d throw that one in there.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 9:54 pm

    Thanks for the comment Alicia. I also was at Camille’s page, and I understand green. The coat is amazingly versatile. I myself have vowed to buy new clothes less and invest in Vintage, as you can get designer and nice clothes for cheap. My mother would have a heart attack to know I am wearing ‘other’ people’s clothing. LOL

  2. March 26, 2009 10:25 pm

    Ugh I would kill for the jacket!……The circle scarf from American Apparel is great piece to have in your wardrobe for about 35 bucks

  3. March 27, 2009 8:59 am

    lol, yeah, shoes have a niche of their very OWN.

  4. March 27, 2009 6:21 pm

    OMG does that mean at 41 I’m not grown up!!!

  5. March 28, 2009 5:36 pm

    She’s an amazing designer, I love her creations.. So glad she’s putting herself out there!
    xx-LJ from SOS!

  6. March 29, 2009 11:52 am

    WORD. “buy less, buy better.”

  7. April 4, 2009 1:26 am

    that thing is hotness. and i agree with sam, buy less and buy hotness!

Trackbacks

  1. Pages tagged "purposeful"

Leave a Reply

