Skip to content

It’s Over

April 18, 2009

((Random shot of Leonidas to celebrate my 300th post. YAAAAAAAAY!!!))

I’m ending No Buy Month early.  Surprisingly, it’s not because I HAVE to have something and I can’t wait another 2 weeks.  It’s actually because I was able to meet about 6 of my fiduciary goals for the year this month.  Holding out just seemed stupid.  LOL.

Now, just because I wasn’t in dire need of something doesn’t mean I didn’t treat myself.  I did.  Indeed I did.  However, I am glad to report that I’ve decided to go on a new route when it comes to throwing down my cash.

  • I’m done (for the most part) with mass retailers (today, I made my “last” purchase)
  • Any supplemental wardrobe pieces are going to be from indie operations or thrifting

Overall, I think this approach will curb all most of the impulse spending that has defined about 60% of my closet.  Oh joy.

The latest haul: the boots I’ve been mentioning all week and a couple of pairs of earrings from carpedraco’s etsy store.  A huge thank you to Miss Elle of Broke and Beautiful for the heads up!!!

For those of you who have always been fascinated with stretched earlobes, you definitely need to pay carpedraco a visit.  Go quickly.  She’s announced that she’s moving on to other pursuits and will be closing up shop soon.  Not to leave her fans completely disappointed, she’s made shipping free on everything.  Score.

Everything in the store is made of natural wood or bone (great for those of you with metal sensitivity) or is an actual piece of jewelry that has been modified for standard pierced ears.  Genius.   Especially for non-committal with the holes in the body people like me.  Oh, and everything is $15 or less.  Yeah.  LESS.

There is stock left, so go on over.  If you’re confused about how they work, Miss Elle posted a video.

Happy Weekend!

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. brokeandbeautiful permalink
    April 18, 2009 5:57 pm

    Awesome! I’m glad you got some… I’ve been wearing mine since I (finally) got them in my damn ears! =)

    xo!

  2. Melanie permalink
    April 18, 2009 10:20 pm

    I’ve been looking for those earrings for ages. It wasn’t until recently I went to the Gold Coast (Australia) and found a whole heap of them. It was great.

  3. April 19, 2009 12:22 am

    The earrings are gorgeous! And so well-priced!

  4. April 19, 2009 5:10 am

    I’m glad to hear you got something! Your no-buy streak actually motivated me to do a little no-buy streak of my own. But I can’t take it anymore either. It’s spring and I want some new stuff so bad!

  5. janegoldenarms permalink
    April 19, 2009 9:55 am

    congrats on meeting your goals in less than a month! give yourself a monthly luxury budget, that has helped curb most of my splurges. also, start getting your fellow fashionistas together and do closet swaps. Pull out the accessories, shoes and gear you bought on impulse and don’t rock, and swap. It’s a free way to shop and fills that craving for the new new.

  6. April 20, 2009 10:43 am

    brava to 300! incredible. it’s hard work and it doesn’t go unnoticed.
    to 300 more…

    *bisous*

  7. April 20, 2009 5:12 pm

    Those earrings are amazing, love them!

  8. April 20, 2009 8:22 pm

    This is Sparta!!!! Ahem, cool earrings!

  9. April 20, 2009 8:29 pm

    Show us what else you bought already! I’m dying of suspense over here.

  10. April 21, 2009 10:34 pm

    i LOVE the silver spiral ones!!

  11. April 22, 2009 8:54 am

    hey…love your blog…great stuff on here…i have been slacking on my blogs!

Leave a Reply

