Skip to content

Boooooooooooooooo

May 1, 2009

My shiny shorts plan is falling through.

First, I found out that sequined fabric was between $70 and $100 per yard.  UMM NO.

I found a shiny silver linen blend that is all sorts of amazing (even with it’s complete lack of stretch…which you know is sorely needed in my case), so I wasn’t too upset.  Everything was cool, right?  Right.

WRONG.

I was almost done with the damn things.  I really was.  I mean, I drafted a pattern, made a test pair, made the real pair, sewed, darted and hemmed everything leaving the zipper for last and found out the damn zipper foot that I got didn’t fit.  Apparently, MY machine doesn’t like refuses to work properly with the generic zipper foot that everyone seems to sell because of about 1mm of plastic that is in the way of the needle (to the 3 people that know what I’m griping about, FEEL MY PAIN!).

I was so close…So…close…

UGH.  At least it made for good practice?

I won’t fret too much.  I will still manage to be shiny tonight at the Prince v. MJ fete.  I mean, what would that party be without a proliferation of sequins and other sparkly things?

That reminds me, I have to find those silver gloves I have stashed away…

SIDE NOTE:  I got my hurr did yesterday.  THANK GAWD.  You have no idea how much this fringe manages to hide.

WHAM!

DOUBLE SIDE NOTE:  Drama Dupree lights up my life.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 1:07 pm

    hey.. sorry it didn’t turn out the way you planned. maybe next time peruse f21 for a cheap skirt? and then use the shiny sequin fabric to create a new short?:D
    if i make a new garment it’s usually out of an old piece of clothing which doesn’t fit. but f21 sells really cheap skirts/shorts/tops for $15 which is way better then $70 a yard..

  2. May 1, 2009 1:12 pm

    I was in there yesterday – turns out they have several dresses covered in patterned sequins for like $4. I almost got a couple, but I got scared. LOL.

  3. May 1, 2009 1:16 pm

    Sucks, if ur MJ/Prince rock out wasn’t tonight I could finish them for you. I’m sure whatever your plan B is will be just as haute. Have fun.

  4. May 1, 2009 2:00 pm

    Hey! Don’t give up!
    Plus you can use a regular foot to put in the zipper, it’s just a bit harder. Is the zipper invisible?
    I want to see the shorts!!

  5. May 1, 2009 4:41 pm

    Wow, you worked harder on these shorts than I’ve worked on anything in years 🙂

  6. trEmaine permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:18 pm

    You are rocking those earrings, my friend… And, not fretting is the right thing to do. I think you’ll find your niche soon w/ the shorts and maybe you can wear them to another stylish event 🙂

  7. May 1, 2009 8:21 pm

    So sorry to hear about the drama with the shorts! But I’m in love with your earrings, hot!

  8. May 2, 2009 4:03 pm

    hahaaaa like where do these characters come from???
    very entertaining

  9. May 3, 2009 3:27 am

    Dying to see what you did instead. When will the photos be up?

  10. May 5, 2009 9:34 pm

    Sequined shorts. Yup. This is when I feel old.

  11. May 6, 2009 12:04 pm

    LOL @ Drama Dupree…

    “B*tches would you not gag if you saw your man…$250 dollars for the first hour?….priceless. You Tube is the devil at work game proper…

  12. May 11, 2009 4:01 pm

    i need those earrings in my life! lol

Leave a Reply

