Skip to content

Floral Fixation

May 15, 2009

Now, I probably own three things with floral print and they all (unsurprisingly)look very similar.  I really don’t like to immerse myself in anyall things flowery.  Too many bad associations with plastic covered couches, dust bunnies, and wallpaper.  However, when I see things like these ending up in my inbox, I consider changing my mind.  Something about an impactful print done in bright and unexpected colors (or on unexpected pieces) has captured my attention.

It must be spring.

Linen Vintage Sweetheart Bustier

Linen Vintage Sweetheart Dress

Thumper Floral Hi-Top Pump

[Images from karmaloop.com and Topshop]

Oddly enough, I want the shoes the most out of these three.  I blame Susie Bubble.

And why are they called “pumps?”  The last time I heard pump in reference to a pair of sneakers, Reebok was making those basketball shoes with the basketball shaped pump on the tongue.  Remember those?  LOL

What did that pump do, anyway???

Are  you guys liking anything unexpected these days?  Let me know that I’m not the only one.  Please.  LOL.

My blog’s new home is up; you should go there.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 4:29 pm

    I’m with you on the floral print. I’ve never been a huge fan of floral print but I’m seeing some interesting pieces this spring that might have me converting to the bright side.

  2. May 15, 2009 9:56 pm

    I’m with you on the floral. Specially these prints which remind me of table cloths to be honest lol. Imagine those print in tulip skirts.. too cute.

    I’ve been really really loving weird goth rings and jewelry. You name it: claws, snakes, skulls…
    I remember some years back in highschool my “rocker” dressing friend got one of those longgggg rings which covers your whole finger shaped like an eagle… And we all thought she was mad. Now I wish we where still in contact just so I could borrow it lol. (Oh.. and so we can joke around of course and hang out.:p)

  3. May 16, 2009 8:36 am

    This summer I’m definitely feeling the floral and neon vibes… there’s so many versatile pieces out there, I just need to find them!

    lol-xxx

  4. May 16, 2009 9:21 am

    I like you I don’t do flowers but I am so liking these flower trends.

  5. Alex.CooperTee permalink
    May 16, 2009 10:02 am

    Ah I just cannot get on board with these floral prints! I guess I would just have to see them styled, but I still think they are way too girly/sweet for me.

  6. May 16, 2009 3:25 pm

    i had a boyfriend with a pair of pumps…thank GAWD i escaped that…

  7. May 17, 2009 2:20 am

    I usually am not into floral prints that much, but that dress is so fresh for the summer! Lovely!

  8. May 17, 2009 6:21 am

    I like the floral bustier! And hmm, idk if I like anything unexpected, but I am loving floral a lot too.

  9. May 17, 2009 7:41 pm

    I’m always hoping to find something unexpected to like!

  10. Laura Reilly permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:45 pm

    I love floral bustiers. I’ve been sewing one for a while but I get the feelings that it’ failing miserably. I just did a floral OD post.

  11. May 19, 2009 10:08 pm

    WOW! I have to say wow, because, well, wow suits this post so nicely. I loved how I read through your post with anticpation, I had no idea what you were going to end up with.. and when I saw the slashes on your back, I fell in love. This is a perfect tshirt for the summer months when you want to feel edgy yet simple. The only problem is.. my hands are messy, and I’ve never been so good at DIY’S… but if you wish me the biggest luck, then maybe I’ll be able to come through.. teheheh

    xoxoxoxoxo
    love always!
    hope to hear from you 🙂
    amy

  12. May 22, 2009 6:48 pm

    love the DIY!!

    thanks for sharing


    buttonsandbowsla.com

Leave a Reply

